Take your biggest fear away. Apps often send a lot of information back to the developers behind them: location information, contacts, etc. These apps sometimes disclose their user databases. Information given to these app makers can be difficult to trace.
If the app you’re using reveals the addresses or phone numbers of people in your contact list, or the names of family members and friends, consider deleting the app. You don’t have to delete every app in your contacts list. If an app provides you with a lot of information, delete it and re-download it. However, don’t be afraid to stop using apps that do not allow you to use the Google and Facebook applications.
Whenever you delete or remove an app that previously had your information, Google or Facebook will not receive any information from you unless it specifically asks for it. You can also delete your data from the data center of the app maker.
Also, be sure to support and download known privacy tools. Check this example to see how these tools will help to secure your information:
Third-party apps are not especially safe — even if you allow them to access your data. Often, they do not have your permission, or have other privacy concerns. Here’s another way to assess if your app is a safe bet: Google Play offers an additional privacy tool called Play Protect. This tool prevents unexpected app updates, app crashes, unusual calls and messages, and more. It also offers password protection and the ability to quickly see the security of an app’s data. By comparing the Play Protect reports of apps against publicly available data, you can also see which apps are the least likely to expose your personal information.
Here are a few suggestions to help keep you safe: